Groomsmen

Shooting outside can be challenging. Ideally shooting during a slightly overcast day or in a shaded area is usually preferred instead of shooting in direct harsh sunlight. Sometimes there is nothing that can be done and you may have to shoot in harsh light. There are various ways to fix this issue, such as moving to a shady area or using a natural light reflector. However when I was shooting this scene, we were in harsh sunlight and it was close to noon, so it was bright out to say the least. In order to try to avoid having photos that had highlights blown out or sharp rough shadows, I tried keeping my aperture to a wider number in order to help soften the scene a little bit and of course had my ISO set to 100 and adjusted the shutter speed as needed. I also made a few minor edits in post production with Camera Raw in Adobe Bridge and Photoshop to get to this final image. My goal is always to try and get the photo right in camera so there is very little post production editing involved, however sometimes it is necessary.

Shaffer-Henderson Wedding

Shaffer-Henderson Wedding

Leave a comment